List of Naturally Gluten Free Foods

You may find that stores and restaurants offer limited options for gluten free dishes . So if you are on a gluten-free diet, a list of naturally gluten free-foods and foods to avoid will be really helpful for you. It helps you determine the foods that are safe to go with and foods to watch out for.

Gluten is a kind of protein that is present in wheat, rye and barley, and nowadays, many people are starting to cut them out of their diet. A gluten-free diet is essential for people with celiac disease or gluten sensitivity.

There are many healthy and delicious foods available that are gluten-free. But people on gluten-free diet should be vigilant in choosing food products as gluten may be lurking on most processed foods. So it is safe to go with food products that are labeled as gluten-free.

To further help you with your gluten-free diet, here is a list of naturally gluten free foods categorized in these six groups:

  • Fruits and vegetables
  • Dairy products
  • Whole grains
  • Fats and oils
  • Proteins
  • Sauces, spices, condiments
  • Drinks and beverages

Gluten-Free Fruits and Vegetables

There is no safer than fresh fruits and vegetables when you are on a gluten-free diet. They are naturally gluten-free but beware of processed fruits and vegetable such as canned, dried and frozen ones as they may contain gluten during the process. Watch out for ingredients such as hydrolyzed wheat protein, modified food starch to add flavor and thickness. Just always make sure to check the label.

gluten free fruits

Here is the list of some fresh fruits and vegetables:

  • Avocados
  • Bananas
  • Berries
  • Apples
  • Citruses such as oranges and lemons
  • Pears
  • Leafy greens (lettuce, spinach, cabbage, chard, kale, etc.)
  • Radishes
  • Potatoes
  • Carrots
  • Squash
  • Green beans
  • Mushrooms

Gluten-Free Dairy Products

Most milk and dairy-based products are naturally gluten-free but beware of those flavored ones like flavored milk and flavored yogurt, ice cream and processed cheese. They may have additives that contain gluten.

gluten free milk

Dairy products that are gluten-free:

  • Milk
  • Yogurt
  • Cheese
  • Butter
  • Sour cream
  • Cream
  • Cottage cheese

Gluten-Free Whole Grains

Whole grains are high in fiber and great source of carbohydrates, providing you with energy and helps with indigestion. These are naturally gluten-free grains:

gluten free oats

  • Oats (those labeled as gluten-free)
  • Brown rice
  • Wild rice
  • Buckwheat
  • Quinoa
  • Tapioca
  • Sorghum
  • Amaranth
  • Teff
  • Millet
  • Arrowroot

Avoid the following:

  1. All varieties of wheat (whole wheat, spelt, wheat berries, kamut, durum, farro, farina, bulgur, graham, semolina, bromated flour)
  2. Rye
  3. Barley
  4. Triticale

Gluten-Free Fats and Oils

Fats and oils are safe most of the time if you cutting out gluten from your diet but beware of some products like cooking sprays as they may be mixed with gluten for additional flavor and thickness.

gluten free oil olive oil

These are some gluten-free fats and oils:

  • Avocado oil
  • Olives
  • Olive oil
  • Coconut oil
  • Vegetable oils
  • Seed oils
  • Butter and ghee

Gluten-Free Proteins

Meat and some vegetables are good source of proteins and they are naturally gluten-free. But come ingredients such as soy sauce, flour and vinegars are added fillers or to enhance flavors and they may contain gluten.

gluten free red meat

Naturally gluten-free proteins:

  • Red meat – pork, beef, lamb, goat, bison, etc.
  • Poultry – fresh chicken, turkey
  • Seafood – fresh fish, shellfish, scallops, lobster, etc.
  • Nuts and seeds
  • Beans
  • Tofu

Watch out for these other protein-rich foods:

  • Processed meats – hotdogs, bacon, sausage, pepperoni, etc.
  • Ground meats
  • Cold cuts
  • Vegetarian burgers and other meat substitutes
  • Marinated meat, fish, poultry, etc.

Gluten-Free Sauces, Spices, Condiments

Sauces, spices and condiments are most foods where gluten can easily sneak in since we use them to add flavors to our foods. Note that gluten-containing ingredients are added to these types of food for thickness and flavor enhancement.

gluten free condiments

Gluten-free sauces, spices and condiments:

  1. Coconut amino
  2. Tamari
  3. Vinegars like white vinegar, apple cider vinegar and distilled vinegar
gluten free condiments

Sauces, spices and condiments to watch out:

  1. Ketchup
  2. Soy sauce
  3. Barbeque sauce
  4. Malt vinegar
  5. Tomato sauce
  6. Mayonnaise
  7. Salad dressing
  8. Marinades
  9. Gravy and stuffing mix
  10. Dry spices

Gluten-Free Drinks and Beverages

You can still enjoy several drinks even if you are on a gluten-free diet but always check the ingredients especially those prepared beverages.

gluten free fruits juices

Drinks and beverages that are gluten free:

  • Water
  • Coffee and tea
  • 100% fruit juices
  • Lemonades
  • Sodas and sports drinks
  • Some alcoholic drinks such as wine, rum, tequila

Drinks and beverages to watch out:

  • Other distilled alcoholic beverages like whisky, gin, vodka, etc.
  • Pre-made smoothies
  • Beers, ales and lagers
  • Malt beverages

Embarking on a gluten-free diet means saying goodbye to a lot of food but it does not have to be difficult and painful as there is still so much food to enjoy and can still ensure you a well-balanced diet. It may not always be as easy but more and more health stores are opening up for gluten-free food products. Just make sure to always check the ingredients and label to keep you out of trouble. Also, keep posted with more health tips in our blogs and be the first to know about our gluten free products and other healthy options to help you with your healthy eating lifestyle.


Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *